Avon Way, Didcot, Oxfordshire OX11 7GB

01235 519235

Ladygrove Park Primary School

Growing Excellence, Inspiring Success

Our Trust School Group: Oxfordshire Primary Education Network (OPEN)

Ladygrove Park converted on 1st June 2013 to an academy as a founder member of the Oxfordshire Primary Education Network (OPEN). 

The decision to convert was founded in a belief in the 'School Led System' as an alternative to maintenance by a local authority which is now forced to focus on schools in categories.  Within the trust, each school retains is autonomy and its own budget but has signed a partnership agreement with the other schools which states that the schools will 'work together and support each other by establishing the Trust to raise standards across the Schools and improve achievement levels'.  Each OPEN school is accountable to its own governing body but also to the trust itself.  The timetable of activities include peer inspections (one day monitoring visits by OPEN headteachers and senior leaders to each other schools following the Ofsted schedule), peer to peer headteacher support for headteacher appraisal, termly joint staff meetings, SLT, SENCo and EYFS meetings and opportunity for all teachers to observe teaching in another OPEN school.

OPEN has the aim of working together to provide an outstanding education for all our children.  OPEN exists to provide support and challenge across the network. 

Other member schools are Willowcroft, Cholsey and St John's Primary Schools.

The benefits of being an academy are:

  • A continued commitment to raising pupil achievement at Ladygrove Park Primary School through the sharing of best practice teaching and of high quality professional development across all schools in the Umbrella Trust.
  • The potential to set our own curriculum to meet the Trust’s objective of “an outstanding education for all pupils“.
  • Some additional funding so we can deploy resources in the best way towards achieving our aims.

Below are links to the other schools websites in OPEN:

Cholsey Primary School


St Johns Primary School

Willowcroft Community School